South College Deli


Mmm

Mmm

One thing I always loved about my home town, or even the small towns surrounding my small town is I knew the good places to eat. I don’t mean the chains like a local Olive Garden or something like that. I mean the local places that only the locals usually know about. For example. Growing up in my small home town of Marshall, Mo. there was this doughnut shop: Paradise Doughnuts. Oh man, if you want to talk about amazing. Krispy Kreme couldn’t even hold a candle to this place. In the summers as a kid, after swim team, my mom would take us to get doughnuts before spending the whole day at my Grammy’s pool. Then in the middle of my high school career, I believe the place had a fire, if I remember correctly. And the man that everyone had come to know as the doughnut natzi was getting older, and he just closed the place down, and it never reopened again. Everyone was extremely dissapointed.

I told you that story to tell you this next story. After living in a place for so long, you begin to find these little places that are absolutely amazing, but not necessarily all that comercialized. I have found such an amazing place in Wilmington. While this small city may not have one GREAT sea food place, but several small sea food places (as it is on the coast), I did find an amazing deli. South College Deli. This place isn’t like Subway, no. With Subway you get a healthy sandwich, bag of chips, and a soda. At this Deli though, you get homemade chips, with your sandwich on homemade bread, and a huge pickle. No pun intended. And these sandwiches are huge. If I wanted to, one sandwich could probably last me two meals. Come to think of it, I’m pretty sure it has before. They even sell beer for those beer fanatics. Walking in, the place isn’t big by any means. With only a small handful of tables. Walking up to the counter i oder, and honestly 3 out of 4 times I’ve been there I’ve been greeted by some cute guy who you just know is trying to work his way through collge. Then they take my order, I sit and wait for a few minutes and they bring it out to me in a brown paper bag. What more could a person ask for?

Leave a Reply

