When did you finally realize you were an adult?


I ran across this question in my most recent copy of Redbook magazine. I subscribed to the magazine through my coke points simply because I already had all the other magazine subscriptions on that website. So flipping through my Redbook I see a one page survey type thing, the survey asked “When did  you realize you were an adult?” Many women gave answers and explanations, most pertaining to becoming a mother and things of that nature. So the question got me thinking. Has there been one specific moment in which I realize I was an adult? I pondered it over for a few days and one night, it suddenly occurred to me. The moment this thing happened, I don’t think I realized it then, but looking back on it, it seems like something I should have realized. The moment I realized I was an adult was when I ventured into Baby Gap to buy my best friends baby a onesie. Fernanda, she’s from Brazil. She had been my best friend in Mexico, my right hand man… or woman I guess. To this day. Even though I haven’t seen her in about three and half years, I still think of her as a sister. She had dated this guy in mexico who we’ll call Erick. Well Erick and I kinda ran in the same group so it made sense that Fernanda would join our group. They were together for most of the time that I knew her in Mexico, and only when I was back in the states did Fernanda send me an email from Mexico announcing that she was moving on. Well time passed, and I was depressed for most of the following year, not wanting to be in the United States, but back in Mexico. One day I caught Fernanda online in a messenger and excited I sent her a message “Fernanda! How are you!!” I expected her to reply, telling me that she was busy with university, and partying. Instead she replied with one phrase “I’m pregnant.” Not the answer I was expecting. Pregnant? My right hand woman? I couldn’t wrap my head around it. Over the months she sent me pictures of her growing belly. She was still thin as a rail, just as she’d always been. Even when she was nine months pregnant you could still see her hip bones under her protruding belly. Even though I was still unsure about all of this, I knew I had to be supportive. I had been planning to send her a package and decided to throw the onesie in there. Walking into the store I felt like I didn’t belong there. I don’t have a baby. I feel like I should have a baby in this store. I mean it is called Baby Gap. I remember looking at the selection wondering how it is possible that someone I know very near and dear could possibly be old enough to have a child.

That was the moment I realized I was an adult. It wasn’t me who was growing another person and expanding onto a whole new level of their lives. But it was very much an extension of me.

One thought on “When did you finally realize you were an adult?

  1. I completely agree with you. When you asked me when I thought I became an adult, at first I was thinking to myself I’m not an adult yet. But with the things I’ve accomplished in recent years, I now realize I’ve been an adult for awhile now. I still think of myself as the girl who just started a new high school, still trying to find her place in this world.

Leave a Reply

