I get by with a little help from my friends…


What would you do if I sang out of tune? Would you stand up and walk out on me?

There’s times where I pride myself on being able to do things by myself and to more or less always be independent. But sometimes, I just need a friend. And I’ve gone through several friends in my life. There’s sometimes people who I honestly thought were my friends, only to turn around and realize they really weren’t and they exit stage right in the play of my life. It’s never really bothered me. But it has made me take notice of the people I really hold near and dear. And it’s easy to say that I honestly have a handful of close friends, and I am completely ok with that. Don’t get me wrong, I have tons of acquaintances, but I don’t know that I’d consider them a close friend. Close friends are the people you know you can call any time, day or night and they’ll be there. And those kind of friends can never be held close enough.

As much as I love having friends like that, I seldom feel as though I am in a spot where I HAVE TO TALK TO THAT PERSON LIKE NOW. But when I am in those spots, its good to know those people will come. And like I said I love having friends like that, but even more so, I love being a friend like that. I love knowing that people feel like they can call me anytime. And they can, and if I’m able I’ll answer the phone.

Growing up, my mother had a friend who I’ll just refer to her as Aunt S. She and my mother had been best friends since they were in this sixth grade. I’d always referred to her as Aunt S. and it wasn’t until I really started to get older that I realized how rare and great it is to have friends like that, that have known you for so long. Well I remember one time… ok there was a few times I remember, but I’ll just use this one example. My mother, my sister and I were stranded three hours from home, and my mom called Aunt S and told her we needed someone to get us. I love that she didn’t even ask questions she just said “I’ll be right there”. Two and a half hours later she showed up sans her bra with a six pack of Bud Light (for her and my mother) and two sodas for my sister and I. She didn’t ask questions. She just drove us home, making casual conversation. Now that’s a friend. Someone who will drive hours to get you out of a tight squeeze… without even putting a bra on at that.

And most of all I love knowing I’m that kind of friend as well.

One thought on “I get by with a little help from my friends…

  1. Your Aunt S is the kind of friend that ‘brings the shovel’.

    Having that kind of friendship is rare indeed. Not only are there too few people who can be trusted to ‘save the day’, I also think that too few of US are people who will be willing to ride to anothers rescue.

    The best way to have that kind of friend is to be willing to be one yourself.

Leave a Reply

