Putting it all on paper…


If I sat down in my small apartment and made a list of all the things I want in a man, it would go something like this… He would need to be tall, dark hair, dark eyes, a strong build, baring a slight resemblance to Michael Buble, Dermot Mulroney, and Steven Ward, he’d love Dave Matthews Band almost as much as I do, he would come from some sort of higher social class, he’d be cultured, and always have great idea for fun dates. And for reasons I don’t understand, I found that guy on Plentyoffish.com. I couldn’t believe it. He was cute, and he loved Dave Matthews, and had agreed that sushi would make for a great first date. After sushi this tall dreamy man suggested we go bowling, then after bowling I suggested the beach, then after the beach he suggested down town. Everything was going perfect… on paper. I mean hell I even called my mom to tell her about this guy the next day. Well the next day came and we lost contact, I didn’t care to call and apparently he didn’t either.

My mother mentioned him a few times, wondering if we were still talking.

Well last night I was at my club of choice down town and while I was shaking my hips and dancing, I looked across the room and saw this tall man. Our eyes locked and I smiled. It was him. It was the tall guy from before who loved Dave Matthews Band. I beckoned him over to me and it was as we were dancing together on the dance floor that I realized why the perfect date had only been a one time thing. It was all there on paper, written out perfectly. But there was no spark.

2 thoughts on “Putting it all on paper…

  1. That’s interesting and explains why you didn’t feel the urge to call him after. Even though the date was perfect there was something missing in the connection. I certainly hope you didn’t call because of the antiquated notion that it is the man who is supposed to call. I am sure that was not the case from the way you phrased it.

    Here’s to perfect dates and less than perfect mates. 🙂

  2. That’s interesting and explains why you didn’t feel the urge to call him after. Even though the date was perfect there was something missing in the connection. I certainly hope you didn’t call because of the antiquated notion that it is the man who is supposed to call. I am sure that was not the case from the way you phrased it.
    +1

Leave a Reply

