Self distraction


My life has become busy. And usually when my life becomes busy, I find it easy to put one thing off until later. Surely it can wait until later tonight. Later tonight more often than not becomes bed time, which is a task I can do tomorrow. And what do you know? I have things to do tomorrow too. So that one put off task gets pushed back and before you know it you’re behind on several things, the apartment is a mess, and all of your files need to be organized, and the pile of homework is only getting higher. Even in college I realize I’m supposed to study, but understand that the social aspect is just as reasonably important. Now though, here on a Friday, with an empty social calendar until tomorrow afternoon, I’m left wanted to take care of everything but lacking the energy. The laundry needs to be put away, the whole apartment needs to be vacuumed, the bathroom could use a little cleaning, my spare room is still a mess, etc. The list goes on and on. On top of my apartment there’s about 300 pages of reading for the weekend (ah the joys of being an English major). I think if I worked non stop for the rest of the weekend I still probably wouldn’t get everything done. I’d do the homework first, cross is off my list, then clean my kitchen, and then clean other areas. But what am I going to do instead of all the things I need to do? I’m going to bake bread.

I was home last weekend and watched as my mother excitedly read her bread cookbook that my grandmother had given her. She claimed out loud that she was going to make every recipe in the book. She spent the afternoon working the dough, and I made sure she was careful not to over knead the yeast (I’ve done that a few times). And she was so proud when her dough rose, and even more when it came out of the over. Needless to say the bread was amazing. I understood how once upon a time bread had been part of a feast.

I’ve never made bread myself, even with the help of my grandmother I over beat the yeast and the dough didn’t rise. But I’m excited to try it. I don’t know why, but cooking/baking has become my moment of zin. It’s an hour of time where all I focus on are the things within my kitchen. I block out my to do lists, I forget about how much money I do or do not have, my friends can wait till later… I leave it all behind me.And I think everyone needs something like that, whether its running, movies, music, reading, whatever it takes.

With that said, I’m going to bake bread tonight. After I clean my kitchen

One thought on “Self distraction

  1. This is something we share in common, at least as I am reading your blog. There are things I need to do that I haven’t done and what is worse, is that though the chores may be tedious, they are all very doable.

    I just can’t find the motivation to do them. And I can’t blame baking delicious bread as a tasty distraction!!

Leave a Reply

